The International Telecommunications Union (ITU) will allow 30 African countries extend their digital migration beyond the original global deadline.

In the report from Daily Nation, the original deadline was June 2015 and some of the countries included in the extension are Algeria, Morocco, Tunisia, Egypt, Ethiopia and the Sudan.

The digital switchover has been raising dust across Africa especially in Kenya where the African Digital Network was recently penalized for shutting down broadcasting from its members on February 14 supposedly in protest of the digital television transmission switchover deadline.

The Kenyan director-general of the Communications Authority (CA), Francis Wangusi, had earlier stated that Kenyan television stations must migrate to digital transmission by June 2015 or they will attract sanctions. Analogue broadcasts have already been shutdown and millions of Kenyans have not been able to access information through their TV sets for more than a week. (we reported news about that here).

Wangusi states that Kenya will not seek an extension and that the CA is expected to penalise the African Digital Network, after its members went off air on 14 February, 2015.

We are unsure of the veracity of the report from Daily Nation. And, that a new timeline for the digital switchover was not made available in report only feeds initial skepticism.

At the time of this report, ITU had not released any statement regarding the development.


Photo Credit: One Tree Hill Studios via Compfight cc

Read this next
More From TC
Business, Government, Policy, Politics
21st August 2019

Stable electricity generation and supply has been a challenge for many African countries for years. In 2014, only 45% of the continent’s 1.2 billion people had access to electricity. When North African countries were excluded, the figure dropped to less than 30%. In 2015, the 48 countries in Sub Saharan Africa produced around 80,000 megawatts […]

AfCFTA, Business, ecosystem, Entrepreneurship, Events, Government
19th August 2019

The Africa Technology and Creative Group’s (ATCG) two-day meet-up in Kigali ended Friday with recommendations on the governance structure, definitive guide on the goals and objectives of the group in relation to the implementation of the Africa Continental Free Trade Agreement (AfCFTA). The ATCG is a coalition of technology and creative professionals who are devoted […]

TechCabal is a Big Cabal Media brand

Copyright © 2019
All rights reserved

Privacy & Terms